CEPII, Recherche et Expertise sur l'economie mondiale
Product Level Trade Elasticities



The ProTEE dataset (PROduct level Trade Estimated Elasticity) provides trade elasticities at product level. The trade elasticity is the reaction of bilateral import flows (in value) to a change in the applied import tariff for a given product (as defined by the WCO’s six-digit Harmonized System classification in revision 2007 - hereafter HS6). To build the dataset, we adopted a structural gravity approach and regressed bilateral import values on bilateral applied tariffs for each HS6 product. The estimated tariff coefficients represent the trade elasticity at product level.

The trade elasticity is a key parameter in all international trade models. Indeed, as demonstrated by Arkolakis, Costinot and Rodriguez-Clare (2012), welfare gains from trade (or losses when returning to autarky) are a function of the change in the share of domestic expenditure and the trade elasticity to variable trade costs. The ProTEE dataset, by providing such trade elasticity at product level, allows scholars and practitioners to obtain a more precise evaluation of the welfare gains from trade than using average homogeneous trade elasticity across products.  

In estimating the structural gravity model for each of the 5,052 HS6 products, we obtain some non-significant coefficients on tariffs (i.e. when tariffs do not vary enough across exporters). We also find few positive and statistically significant trade elasticity (2.4% of all product lines) that we characterize in the working paper associated to the database (see Fontagné et al. 2019). Accordingly, in the published version of the database, each positive and non-significant HS6 trade elasticity has been substituted by the average elasticity of its HS4 heading (average across negative HS-6 specific elasticities within HS4). Concerned products are flagged. 

The database therefore contains four variables: 
(i) HS6: the HS6 product category, in revision 2007
(ii) Elasticity: the value of trade elasticity 
(iii) Zero: a dummy indicating whether the elasticity from the original estimation was a zero (i.e. non-significant) 
(iv) Positive: a dummy indicating whether the elasticity from the original estimation was positive and significant

 Methodology: a Short Description
In estimating product level trade elasticity we applied a structural gravity approach on a panel of bilateral import flows (in values) and applied tariffs for a full matrix of 189 exporting and 152 importing countries. Bilateral import flows are from BACI database, while applied tariff data are from MAcMap-HS6. Since MAcMap-HS6 is available only for the years 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2016, our regression sample spans from 2001 to 2016 on a three-year windows base.   

To address the heteroskedasticity in the error term (and the zero trade flows problem - missing information), we follow Santos-Silva and Tenreyro (2006) and adopt a PPML estimator as baseline (and preferred) estimator. In our estimations we always include exporter-year and importer-year fixed effects to fully control for exporter and importer multilateral resistance terms. By doing so, we exploit the variation in tariffs imposed on different exporters by a given importer at different points in time. We control for bilateral specific geographic related trade costs (as derived by a standard gravity model for trade), by including in all regressions: (i) distance (in logarithm), (ii) a dummy for common colony, and (iii) a dummy for common border. Please refer to Fontagné et al. (2019) for more details on the methodology. 

Presentation

Reference document to mention
Fontagné L., Guimbard H. and Orefice G. (2019) « Product-Level Trade Elasticities » CEPII Working Paper, forthcoming (à paraître)

Download Page

register


 Person in charge
Lionel Fontagné

licence-ouverte-open-licence

CEPII, Recherche et Expertise sur l'economie mondiale
Product Level Trade Elasticities



La base de données ProTEE (PROduct level Trade Estimated Elasticity) fournit un ensemble d’élasticités du commerce international pour 5,502 produits (définis par la classification harmonisée du commerce international à six chiffres, en révision 2007, ci-après SH6). L’élasticité du commerce mesure la variation des importations bilatérales par produit induite par les variations du droit de douane appliqué aux différents exportateurs de ce produit. Cette base de données est construite à partir des estimations utilisant un modèle de gravité structurelle appliqué au commerce international. Pour chaque produit, les importations bilatérales, en valeur, sont expliquées, entre autres, par les droits de douane bilatéraux. Les coefficients estimés associés aux droits de douane correspondent à l'élasticité du commerce par produit.

L'élasticité du commerce est un paramètre clé pour l’ensemble des modèles de commerce international. En effet, Arkolakis, Costinot et Rodriguez-Clare (2012) ont démontré que les gains de bien-être économique, associés à la libéralisation commerciale (ou les pertes en cas de retour à l’autarcie), sont fonction de l’élasticité du commerce aux coûts variables des échanges et de l’évolution du taux de pénétration des importations. L’utilisation de la base ProTEE permet d’abandonner l’utilisation d’une élasticité homogène moyenne pour l’ensemble des secteurs et d'obtenir une évaluation plus précise des variations de bien-être associées à un changement de politiques commerciales.

L’estimation du modèle de gravité structurelle ne permet pas d’obtenir des coefficients statistiquement significatifs pour chacun des 5,052 produits définis au niveau du SH6. Certains coefficients ne sont pas statistiquement différents de zéro, et des élasticités au commerce positives sont obtenues pour 2,4 % des produits (Voir Fontagné, Guimbard & Orefice 2019, pour une discussion approfondie). Dans la version en ligne de la base de données, chaque élasticité positive et non significative a été remplacée par l'élasticité moyenne de la catégorie de produits SH4 à laquelle le produit concerné appartient. Les élasticités ainsi calculées sont signalées par des indicatrices.

La base de données contient quatre variables :
i) HS6 : Le code du produit, soit six chiffres de la nomenclature SH (révision 2007).
ii) Elasticity : La valeur de l'élasticité estimée.
iii) Zero : Une variable muette indiquant si l’élasticité de l’estimation initiale est non significativement différente de zéro.
iv) Positive : Une variable muette indiquant si l'élasticité de l'estimation initiale est positive et significative.

 Méthodologie : une brève description
Afin d’estimer l’élasticité du commerce international au niveau des produits, nous avons utilisé un modèle de gravité structurelle appliqué à l’ensemble des flux bilatéraux d’importations (en valeur). Pour l’identification des élasticités, nous utilisons les droits de douane appliqués par 152 pays importateurs à 189 pays exportateurs. Les flux bilatéraux d'importation proviennent de la base de données BACI (CEPII), tandis que les données tarifaires appliquées proviennent de MAcMap-HS6 (CEPII-ITC). Étant donné que MAcMap-HS6 n'est disponible que pour les années 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010, 2013 et 2016, notre échantillon s'étend de 2001 à 2016 par période de trois ans.

Pour résoudre le problème de l'hétéroscédasticité du terme d'erreur (et celui des flux commerciaux nuls ou des informations manquantes), nous utilisons un estimateur de pseudo-maximum de vraisemblance de Poisson (Santos-Silva et Tenreyro, 2006). Nous incluons dans nos estimations des effets fixes (variables muettes) année-exportateur et année-importateur pour contrôler pour les termes de résistance multilatérale au commerce des exportateurs et importateurs. Nous exploitons ainsi la variation des droits de douane imposés aux différents exportateurs par un importateur donné, et ceci pour chaque produit. Nous contrôlons également pour les coûts du commerce liés à la géographie des pays, en incluant dans toutes les régressions: (i) la distance (en logarithme) entre pays, (ii) une variable muette pour indiquer une relation coloniale en commune entre pays, et (iii) pour la présence une frontière commune. Voir Fontagné, Guimbard & Orefice (2019) pour plus de détails sur la méthodologie.

Présentation

Référence à citer
Fontagné L., Guimbard H. and Orefice G. (2019) « Product-Level Trade Elasticities » CEPII Working Paper, forthcoming (à paraître)

Page de download

s'inscrire


 Responsable
Lionel Fontagné

licence-ouverte-open-licence